The Billings Bulls started operations in the American Frontier Hockey League (AFHL) for the start of the 1993 – 94 season. The Bulls have changed leagues five times since then but have always been known as the Bulls. The organization has always prided itself on having high levels of success when it comes to player advancement and winning.

Billings Bulls
American Frontier Hockey League: 1993 – 1998
America West Hockey League: 1998 – 2003
North American Hockey League: 2003 – 2006
Northern Pacific Hockey League: 2006 – 20011
American West Hockey League: 2011 – 2013
North American 3 Hockey League: 2013 – Current

City: Billings, Montana

Founded: 1993

Home Arena: Centennial Ice Arena

Colors: Blue, Red, White and Powder Blue

Owners: Chris Dunbar, Joe Robillard

Head Coach: Michael Richardson

Assistant Coach: Trent Ritchie

The Billings Bulls are a Tier III Junior A ice hockey team currently playing out of the North American 3 Hockey League (NA3HL). The Bulls are based in Billings, Montana and play their home games out of the 550 seat Centennial Ice Arena. They previously play their home games in the RimRock Auto Arena, which holds 8,500 fans for hockey games. Prior to the Bulls, Billings housed the Billings Bighorns of the Western Hockey League (Major Junior), where NHLers like Andy Moog, Jim McTaggart, and Murray Brumwell played their Junior Hockey. Between 1980 and 1992 Billings was without a Junior Hockey team until the Billings Bulls joined the American Frontier Hockey League in 1993. The league was later renamed the American West Hockey League (AWHL) in 1998. The AWHL merged with the North American Hockey League (NAHL) in 2003. However in 2006, a negotiating dispute with arena officials and local county commissioners resulted in the team losing its lease. The Bulls then joined the Northern Pacific Hockey League (NORPAC) with fellow Montana based teams. The Norpac was a Junior B league, until all of Junior B was Sactioned as Junior A tier III. in 2011 the frontier division left the NORPAC to reform the AWHL. In March of 2014, the AWHL joined the NA3HL, forming the Frontier Division. At the Tier II Junior A level the Bulls have compiled a record as 459-216-54. The Bulls Organization has one of the longest standings of excellence in all of junior hockey at the Tier II and III Junior A levels.